Current Obsession: Megan Lee 8dayz

 photo 8dayzmeganlee.jpg

Say hello to the newest kid on the Kpop industry block: Megan Lee, a Korean-American singer-songwriter who recently appeared on the music scene with her debut single “8dayz” a few days ago. Just like the gorgeous spring weather outside, this is one delightfully sweet song whose lyrics carry an encouraging message: every day is a new day. Words that should be echoed more often, methinks.

Megan Lee – “8dayz” [ Download ]

 

 photo meganleeteaser.jpg

The Singer:  Megan Lee (Korean name: 이혜린 Lee Hye-rin)

The Backstory: To be honest, there isn’t much I know about Megan Lee, who got her start covering various song covers and voicing her singing talents on Youtube. I recognized her face from a few collaborations with other Youtubers when she was still a tween (she’s currently 18 years old) and left impressed by her strong vocals. So I did some digging and found that she was a former Season 2 contestant on MBC’s Star Audition – The Great Birth, and even recognized by one of my favorite Korean-American singers: Lena Park.

Since then, she was signed to music label Soulshop Entertainment and was featured in Kim Tae-woo’s single “Oppa.” She even gave a mini-tour of the company in one Youtube video, and I’m sure there were plenty of fans who patiently waited for yearrrss between her internet and television fame to her actual debut. I do think that the song proves that she was worth the wait because it’s just fantastic. I can’t wait to listen to more of her music and look forward to see her blossom as a singer.

The Song: Simply put, this is one tune that is sure to leave a smile on your face. I was pleasantly surprised to stumble upon such an upbeat song where the acoustics is a perfect fit for an adorable singer.  Additionally, I love the driving beat in both its melody and lyrics that encourages you to get up and going. But at the end of the day, what solidified my love for this song was the inclusion of Yong Jun-hyung from BEAST, who is one of my favorite Kpop mainstream rappers. This time his English lyrics made complete sense, and I wouldn’t be surprised if Megan’s English fluency had something to do with it. Don’t worry – I still love you Jun-hyung.

You’ll be happy to know that there’s an English version to this single, and that the music video is the cutest thing you’ve seen this season (animal masks notwithstanding):

The Lyrics: (Korean from Naver Music and English from the English version of the song)

Monday 반복되던 Tuesday 지쳐가던 Wednesday 더 힘든Thursday
오 Friday 행복했던 Saturday 아쉬움만 Sunday 다시 시작 될

이젠 new day 이젠 new life 멋진 오늘 끝나지 않을
이젠 new way 이젠 new light 파란 하늘 보여줘 맘을

You make me feel alive 이젠 new day 이젠 new life
You make me feel alive 이젠 new way 이젠 new light

Love song pretty pretty love song 너를 위한 노래 불러 all night long
Piano 너도 함께 let’s go 춤을 추는 rainbow 우리 모두 다

You make me feel alive 이젠 new day 이젠 new life
You make me feel alive 이젠 new way 이젠 new light

오 달콤한 향기 불어오는 그 길을 따라서 걷다 보면
보지 못했던 그 새로운 page 내가 만든 my new age 8dayz

이젠 new day 이젠 new life 이젠 new way 이젠 new light

(Alright yo it’s my time)
Breath in fresh air 이 노랜 새로운 시작을 알리는 bell
No fear i don’t care (clap) if you know what I mean
Ain’t nobody can’t stop it 떨리는 이 순간이
Best part of my life/ the ends were beginning
모두가 끝이라며 되돌아갈 때 내 앞에 새로운 시작이 날 맞이해
(it’s a new day)
이젠 new day 이젠 new life 멋진 오늘 끝나지 않을
이젠 new way 이젠 new light 파란 하늘 보여줘 맘을

 

One wish if I had just one wish
I would have just one more day
to spend with you
There seven days in a whole week
but if I had an 8th day
I would be with you
It’s a new day it’s a new life
it’s like something on
an autumn breeze
It’s a new way it’s a new light
and the days are full of promises
You make me feel alive
you make me feel alive
Love song pretty pretty love song
Written on a banjo
I’ll sing it all night long
Flowers drinking from a rainbow
Sunset like a postcard
This will never end
It’s a new day it’s a new life
it’s like something on
an autumn breeze
It’s a new way it’s a new light
and the days are full of promises
You make me feel alive
oh you make me feel alive
You make me feel alive
oh you make me feel alive
Oh birds in the sky
their tweets are so sweet
Blueberry kisses
they float with the breeze
Discovered a new day that turns
a new page this is our place
Our new age
8 days
It’s a new day it’s a new life
it’s like something on
an autumn breeze
It’s a new way it’s a new light
and the days are full of promises
It’s a new day it’s a new life
it’s like something on
an autumn breeze
It’s a new way it’s a new light
and the days are full of promises
You make me feel alive

 

Leave a Reply

