Current Obsession: INFINITE Last Romeo

 photo infiniteromeo2.jpg

Considering my closeted long-term adoration for INFINITE, this week’s Current Obsession post is long overdue. There are times as a fangirl when you actually wait weeks for a single to drop, and never had my anticipation been greater than for this particular song. Um, ombre blue and neon orange hair notwithstanding. It’s barely been a week since the group’s latest title track “Last Romeo” from the group’s second full-length album, aptly entitled “Season 2,” has hit the music charts. Needless to say that even if this song doesn’t do it for you (but really, why wouldn’t it?) there are plenty of other genre offerings on the album itself.

INFINITE – “Last Romeo” [ Download ]

 

 photo infinite.jpg

The Band:  (from left to right) Dongwoo  (Jang Dong-woo),  L (Kim Myung-soo), Woohyun (Nam Woo-hyun), leader Sunggyu (Kim Sung-gyu), Sungyeol (Lee Sung-yeol), Hoya (Lee Ho-won), and maknae Sungjong (Lee Sung-jong)

The Backstory: Although I knew of INFINITE ever since their debut in June 2010, it wasn’t until their single “Before the Dawn” (BTD) – the one with the trademark “scorpion dance” — that they really caught my eye. Known for their synchronous choreography, the group continued to build their popularity and ultimately grabbed the Number 1 spot with “Be Mine (내꺼하자)” which is another one of my favorite tracks. Since then, there have been some songs I’ve loved more than others, but I could always count on a virtually flawless dance performance each and every time.

If you’ve been following these posts, you’ll recognize Woohyun from ToHeart, the collaboration duo with SHINee’s Key. In fact, INFINITE has formed various sub-units (Infinite H with Hoya and Dong-woo, and also Infinite F with Sungyeol, Sungjong,and L) and leader Sunggyu has his own solo album. The boys have numerous individual activities between the seven of them: You may have seen a few (Hoya, L, Sungyeol) exercise their acting chops in past dramas or laughed with them on variety shows.

Side story: I coincidentally saw the Infinite boys at a random restaurant in Los Angeles one summer, and it took a few minutes before the realization kicked in. Though there are a few of them I absolutely love, as soon as Hoya walked in—I kid you not—the whole room dissolved from my view. Basically he’s just that gorgeous. Anyhow, the TL;DR version is that I missed the chance to speak to them, but for the curious—yes, they are really pretty, in all sense of that adjective.

I can attribute my growing love to the biggest INSPIRIT fangirl I know, since she nearly always fills me in on updates of the group. She’s someone who knows the origin of my self-diagnosed Busan Syndrome (in short, almost all of my favorite male celebrities hail from the region) and makes sure to feed that obsession by sending me pictures of Hoya.

The Song: Even though I despise the whole “Romeo & Juliet” morbid young tween love tragedy itself, I do admire the wholly romantic “last love” idea, the one where you spend the rest of your life in love with someone. Hence my insta-love for “Last Romeo.” I previously mentioned that I waited weeks for this song, something my Inspirit friend can attest to, since she had to put up with my impatient rants and raves in that time: “Why isn’t it May 21 yet?!” I’d cry. To be perfectly honest, I was so impatient that I actually listened to the Japanese version of the track even before the Korean version came out. Now THAT’s what you call an obsession.

 photo infinitemag-1.jpg

Lastly for your listening and viewing pleasure, you’ll find the music video here:

The Lyrics: (Korean from Naver Music and English from Hysterie)

독배라 해도 괜찮아 기꺼이 내가 받으리
어떤 유혹도 너보단 달콤하고 강렬하지 못해

세상 어둠은 눈부신 니가 모두 삼키고 날 그 빛에 눈 멀게 해
어떤 어둠도 니 앞에선 그 힘을 잃잖아 난 너만 있으면 돼

길을 밝혀줘 이제 원튼 말든 선택은 끝났어 나의 전부를 다 걸겠어
지켜 낼 거야 어떤 어려운 여정이 된다 해도
난 너 밖엔 안 보인다

틀어진 틀이 내는 음악 비극 삭막함에 날 밀어붙여
삐걱이는 사랑의 서막 I’m Gonna Lose Myself
That Was Sweet Start
멈출 줄 몰라 끝 다다른 내 감정만이 올라
확신이 된 착각 너와 난 Got The Top Of The Emotion

꽃이 시들어 날리고 달은 기울어 사라져 가도
변하지 않을 내 마음 사랑한다 사랑한다

너의 입술이 죄 많은 내 입술을 감싸고 날 향기에 취하게 해
어떤 보상도 이보다 강할 수는 없잖아 난 너만 있으면 돼

길을 밝혀줘 이제 원튼 말든 선택은 끝났어 나의 전부를 다 걸겠어
지켜 낼 거야 어떤 어려운 여정이 된다 해도

세상아 보거라 이기게 해다오 태양아 뜨거라 내게 힘을 다오
운명아 듣거라 길을 막지 마오 그녀를 꼭 지킬게

사랑 하나에 세상과 겨루려는 마지막 그 남자가 돼주겠어
어떤 위협도 널 위해선 맞설 수 있잖아 난 너만 있으면 돼

길을 밝혀줘 이제 원튼 말든 선택은 끝났어 나의 전부를 다 걸겠어
지켜 낼 거야 어떤 어려운 여정이 된다 해도
난 너 밖엔 안 보인다
너 밖엔 안 보인다
너 밖엔 안 보인다

넌 마치 미로같이 복잡해 왜 자꾸만 밀어내 날 믿어 너의 Romeo

내겐 너 밖엔 없다

 

I would willingly drink any poison for you.
There’s no sweet temptation greater than your own.
You’re so dazzling you swallow up the darkness in this world, blinding me with your light.
All of the darkness in the world loses strength before you, you’re all I need.

Light my way, whether I want to or not
I’ve made my choice, I’ll give all I’ve got.
I’ll protect you no matter what difficulties I may face,
you’re all I see.

The musical tragedy playing through the warped mold
suffocates me with desolation.
I’m gonna lose myself in our love’s creaking opening act.
That was a sweet start, and I don’t know how to stop.
My emotions simply climb towards their climax.
The two of us are just a convincing delusion, got the top of the emotion.

Even when the flowers whither and scatter in the wind,
and even if the moon tilts and leaves the night sky
my feelings for you will not change.
I love you. I love you.

Your lips cover my sinful lips and intoxicate me with your taste.
No reward could be greater than this, you’re all I need.

Light my way, whether I want to or not
I’ve made my choice, I’ll give all I’ve got.
I’ll protect you no matter what difficulties I may face.

O’ world, watch and let me win.
O’ sun, rise and give me strength.
O’ fate, listen, do not stop me,
I will protect her.

I will be the last man standing,
challenging the whole world for this one love.
I can face any danger for you,
you’re all I need.

Light my way, whether I want to or not
I’ve made my choice, I’ll give all I’ve got.
I’ll protect you no matter what difficulties I may face,
you’re all I see.

You’re all I see.
You’re all I see.

You’re complicated like a labyrinth.
Why do you keep pushing me away, trust me.
I’m your Romeo.
You’re the only one I have

 photo hoyainfinite.jpg

Leave a Reply

