Current Obsession: ZE:A First Homme

 photo zea580.jpg

Of the numerous June comebacks, ZE:A’s newest mini-album “First Homme,” caught my eye (and ears) unexpectedly this week. Catchy and exciting, the title track “Breathe” turned out to be just the song to usher in a new season of greatly anticipated comebacks in the music industry. I’ll be honest and say that the first listen didn’t appeal right away, but I quickly found myself bopping along by the end of the day. And if that doesn’t convince you, then perhaps you’d like to know that the Doctor’s TARDIS makes a cameo in their music video.

ZE:A – “숨소리 (Breathe)” [ Download ]

 

 photo 245-zea-5qp0.jpg

The Band: Moon Jun-young, Ha Min-woo, Hwang Kwang-hee, Jung Hee-chul, Park Hyung-shik, Im Shi-wan, Kim Tae-hun, Kim Dong-jun, Kevin Kim

The Backstory: Some groups are lucky enough to have a rockin’ debut single whereas others get stuck with a downright terrible song. Unfortunately, 제국의아이들 (Children of Empire) falls into the latter category; simply put, the track “Mazeltov” (2010) was atrocious. But don’t get me wrong—no blame falls on them since usually the entertainment label makes the final call on what the rookies will perform to, and ZE:A is neither the first idol group to fall victim to an awful debut nor will they be the last, I’m sure.

Thank goodness then that things only improved for the group as time went on, in both popularity and music. I came to recognize a few faces through variety shows and dramas, and as I remember it, Kwang-hee was the first member who made a splash with his 4D personality. In fact, I distinctly remember one Strong Heart episode where he shamelessly promoted his fellow members: pointing to three of them (Jun-young, Shi-wan, and Hyung-shik), he said their visuals would make them great for commercials. And you know what happened? Now Shi-wan and Hyung-shik are among the rising celebrities being praised for bridging that idol-actor gap with their acting chops.

It was the song “Aftermath” that finally grabbed my attention to the group. As another refreshing summer hit, I found myself playing that album on repeat for days on end. It’s also worth noting that sub-units ZE:A Five and ZE:A4U have a few singles of their own, but by far my favorite would be the R&B remix of “Aftermath,” preferably the live version.

The Song: Ah, this song. To be honest, I juggled a few possibilities for this week’s post since all of my favorite artists came out with some great music (the reason being that many, if not all the artists postponed their comebacks out of respect for the Sewol Ferry tragedy; a very appropriate response). In the end, it was ZE:A who won out, and they aren’t afraid to be goofy sometimes, either. Case in point:

 photo wackyzea.jpg

The Lyrics: (Korean from Naver Music and English from PopGasa)

It’s time to rise. It’s time to shine.
너의 숨소리… 널 잊지 못하네…

뒤척이다 뒤척이다 그대 생각에 한숨만 나요. 일어나 다시 물 한 잔 마시고,
엎드렸다 바로 누워 그대 생각에 눈물 나요. 창밖에 별을 쳐다보네요.

아름다운 밤하늘이 빛나고 있어. 근데 왜 자꾸 난 눈물이 날까요.
아름다운 그대 모습 자꾸 떠올라. 죽을 만큼 널 사랑해.

내 귓가에 항상 소곤소곤 대던 너의 숨소리, 이젠 두 번 다시 들을 수 없는 너의 목소리.
그리워져 잠이 들 수 없어. 너의 작은 숨소리, 이젠 볼 수가 없네요, 잡을 수 없어요. 그대를

나는 몰라 널 잊는 법, 나 혼자 우두커니 너 없는 곳,
혼자 남아 날 맴도는 네 흔적, 아주 조금만 더 머물러줘.

따스한 네 온기가, 달콤했던 숨소리가,
그리워져 I’m sorry ma, 날 미치게 해. 빗소리가

아름다운 밤하늘이 빛나고 있어. 근데 왜 자꾸 난 눈물이 날까요.
아름다운 그대 모습 자꾸 떠올라. 죽을 만큼 널 사랑해.

내 귓가에 항상 소곤소곤 대던 너의 숨소리, 이젠 두 번 다시 들을 수 없는 너의 목소리.
그리워져 잠이 들 수 없어. 너의 작은 숨소리, 이젠 볼 수가 없네요. 잡을 수 없어요. 그대를

내가 보고 싶지 않다고 말하지 마요. 말하지 마요.
다른 사람 만날 거라 말하지 마요. 말하지 마요. 너무 아픈데

 

It’s time to rise, it’s time to shine
The sound of your breath
I can’t forget you

I toss and turn, only sighing because I’m thinking of you
I get up and drink a glass of water and lay back down
Tears come at thoughts of you, looking at the stars outside the window

The beautiful night sky is shining
But why do tears keep falling?
I keep thinking of the beautiful you
But why do tears keep falling?

I could always hear the soft sound of your breath in my ears
Now I can’t ever hear your voice again
I miss you so much that I can’t fall asleep
The small sound of your breath
I can’t see you, I can’t hold onto you anymore

I don’t know how to forget you
So I’m just here alone without you
Traces of you linger around me
Please stay a little longer

Your warm body heat, the sweet sound of your breath
I miss it, I’m sorry ma, it drives me crazy, the sound of the rain

The beautiful night sky is shining
But why do tears keep falling?
I keep thinking of the beautiful you
I love you to death

I could always hear the soft sound of your breath in my ears
Now I can’t ever hear your voice again
I miss you so much that I can’t fall asleep
The small sound of your breath
I can’t see you, I can’t hold onto you anymore

Don’t say that you don’t miss me, don’t say it
Don’t say that you’re seeing someone else, don’t say it
It hurts too much

 photo zeafivea.jpg

One thought on “Current Obsession: ZE:A First Homme

  1. Gumimochi, same here…aftermath remix version aka moon leader version. It’s the best one. Man to man is also good. I am crying to read this article…this boy need to shine soon.

Leave a Reply

